Good Morning-Amazing Almond Dairy-Free Protein Breakfast

Leslie H

My trainer is always telling me I should rotate my meals especially breakfast because I could and have eaten the same thing every morning for way over 4 years daily. But that is another story….this is so your body won’t become intolerant to a certain food group (i.e. eggs with honey and salt) and it is much better for digestion and weight maintenance. I have found three different items to rotate and today I found the fourth! I was a big protein shake drinker for awhile and when I gave up dairy I also gave up the shakes-filled with whey protein. Now I know there are protein powders that don’t contain whey, but I am not a big fan of them. This morning there was a new deliciousness……borrowed from http://godairyfree.org/

Ingredients:

1 cup ripe frozen banana-broken into chunks (peel first before you put in the freezer–good lesson this morning!)

1 date, pitted

2 T. smooth almond butter

1/2 cup almond, rice or soy milk

1/4 tsp. cinnamon

pinch of salt

sliced almonds or or toasted coconut to garnish

Instructions:

Add everything to the blender and blend until smooth. If it is too thick add a bit more  milk to thin it out. Pour into a glass, garnish and enjoy!

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

