Moroccan Stewed Chicken

This recipe was found on Pinterest, borrowed from: http://recipes.womenshealthmag.com/Recipe/moroccan-stewed-chicken.aspx

I was looking for a hearty, dairy-free dish that would be easily converted into leftovers, and found this.  I was pretty happy with how it turned out! The only bummer is that I left some of my leftover at work over the weekend…

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb boneless, skinless chicken thighs (I used chicken breast strips from TJ’s.  Worked just fine)
  • 1 large zucchini, cut into cubes
  • 1 can (16 oz) garbanzo beans
  • 1 can (14.5 oz) diced tomatoes
  • chopped cilantro for garnish (I would’ve preferred parsley next time)
  • EVOO, S&P
  • 1 cup chicken stock or water (I think 3/4 C would’ve been enough)
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper (I used 1 tsp to make spicier)
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup cooked couscous (I used Israeli and made 1 cup)
  • Handful golden raisins
  • Handful toasted pinenuts
  • I added a can of corn, and would add even more veggies (carrots, peas, etc) next time

Recipe:

  1. Heat oil in large sauté pan over medium high heat.  Season chicken with s&p and place them in the pan.  Cook for 2-3 mins on each side, until brown.  Add zucchini and continue cooking, stirring occasionally.
  2. When zucchini is browned lightly (I had a hard time getting mine to brown…), add garbanzo beans (strained), tomatoes, chicken stock, cayenne, cumin, and cinnamon.  Turn the heat to low and simmer for 10-15 minutes, until chicken is tender and cooked through.  Garnish with chopped cilantro/parsley.
  3. Meanwhile, cook couscous according to package instructions.  Lightly toast pine nuts.  Once couscous is cooked, stir in golden raisins, pine nuts, and cilantro/parsley.  I thought this was the best part of the meal!

It was an easy, delicious, filling meal! Even the pickiest eater, Bradley, ate it. And worked great for leftovers 🙂

xx

Leah

One thought on “Moroccan Stewed Chicken

  1. Kaitlin says:

    OOH! This looks really yummy Leebs. I think I will make it with tofu when I am done being sicky!

Leave a Reply

