Rainbow Quinoa

Leslie W

This is one of my favorite go-to recipes lately. The recipe is an easy quinoa dish with lots of flavor. And my favorite part, it is excellent cold as leftovers throughout the week. I borrowed the recipe from http://www.recipage.com/new_pageCreator/printerFriendly.php?recipe_id=6013542. The picture below is my modified version, not the original recipe described below.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup dry quinoa (I usually double this)
  • Generous pinch salt
  • 2 cups water (4 cups if double quinoa)
  • 1 giant stalk rainbow chard
  • 1 tomato
  • 1 bell pepper
  • 1/2 log goat cheese (~2 ounces)

For the dressing

  • Juice of quarter of a lemon
  • 1 heaping tsp dijon mustard
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/4 tsp kosher salt
  • 1 tsp soy sauce
  • 1/4 tsp dried dill
  • Pinch red pepper flakes

Instructions:

  • Cook quinoa in 2 cups of water with pinch salt (Bring to a boil, reduce to simmer for 20 minutes)
  • In last 2 minutes, add chopped chard leaf to steam.
  • Chop tomato and pepper.
  • Combine all in bowl.
  • Mix dressing in a jar and pour over salad.
  • Add goat cheese.
  • Stir to combine.

The first time I made this dish I did not have chard on hand and substituted spinach. I have done this every time and love it. I also think kale would be a great addition and add more flavor. I also usually eyeball the dressing and sometimes double it if I make more quinoa. I like to saute the bell pepper and tomato beforehand as well instead of leaving them raw. This really isn’t a recipe you need to stick to but just use as a general guideline. Last night I made many substitutions: added two chicken breasts (cubed), a can of white beans, and used grape tomatoes. I also used an herbed goat cheese. It turned out excellent and I’d definitely make these changes again. The goat cheese makes the dish extremely creamy and delicious.

Have a great Wednesday!

One thought on “Rainbow Quinoa

  1. Melissa says:

    Kaitlin and I just made this! It’s super delish 🙂

    We added a little balsamic and honey to the dressing (cause it’s us…) which made it really tasty, and we made probably three times the dressing the recipes.

    For the insides, I put sauteed onions, mushrooms and spinach and then butterbeans that were cooked in salt and garlic powder till a little toasty. …and some pine nuts.

Leave a Reply

