Banana and Oatmeal Pancakes

Leslie H

Remember I was telling you about my breakfast rotation? This recipe has joined the family. Ellen DeGeneres personal chef has a new cookbook out: Vegan Cooking for Carnivores and I love it. When I buy a new cookbook I will usually sit down and read it page by page like a novel, highlighting with post- it notes the recipes I want to try. This book already has too many post -it notes that I may just be trying them all! This morning’s recipe can easily be converted into a Gluten Free recipe with almond or rice flour. I halved the recipe and it was still plenty for a couple meals or two people. This is the full recipe.  Instead of maple syrup I used almond butter for an added protein boost!

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups nondairy milk

1 cup oatmeal

2 medium size bananas

1/2 cup flour (can use GF)

1/2 tsp. salt

1 T. + 1 tsp. baking powder

coconut oil for pan as needed

Instructions:

In a blender, puree all ingredients except the coconut oil until smooth. Let rest 10 minutes. Heat a non-stick pan with a bit of coconut oil over medium heat. Scoop 1/4 cup fulls of batter for each pancake. When small bubbles appear on the tops and the bottoms are browned, flip the pancakes and cook until golden on the other side. Enjoy with your favorite topping.

2 thoughts on “Banana and Oatmeal Pancakes

  1. Melissa says:

    Kaitlin and I made these last night with Brown Rice Flour instead of regular flour…we made the 1/2 recipe like you recommended and it was the perfect size for the two of us.

    I haven’t eaten a normal pancake in a long time, so it’s hard to know how they compare…but I thought they were pretty tasty with Almond Butter and Cinnamon on top!

  2. Melissa says:

    I’ve made these 3 times now…Cooking the pancakes in Earth Balance instead of Coconut Oil was the perfect change to make me love them!

Leave a Reply

